Skip to content

Career Change

July 31, 2010
tags:

I just finished my second contract as an Access database programmer. I love working for myself and being my own boss, so I think I’ll try to continue in this vein. I never thought I’d have the discipline to work from home. I thought I’d be too distracted by all the opportunities to goof off, but now that I’m doing it I find that I actually have fewer distractions than I did working in an office. In an office there’s always someone who walks by wanting to socialize. Not so at home. Also deadlines and due dates are enough to keep me focused. In fact I’m having more difficulty stopping working at the end of the day than I am avoiding distractions during the day, although getting going in the morning has been tough a couple times.

Of course I may have to change my plans if I can’t get enough work, so I’ll definitely keep my feelers out for a permanent position somewhere. In my down time between contracts I’ll look for jobs as well as learn new skills. VB.net and Java are next on the list.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Flex727 permalink
    August 1, 2010 9:11 am

    Your experience mirrors my own. Of course the downside is the uncertainty factor with regards to income. When I was under a severe deadline, I found it surprisingly easy to basically work every waking minute. The tough part becomes knowing when to stop.

Leave a Reply

